Re-Grow Roots

Learning to live harmoniously in Missouri.

Herbal Tincture Recipes

12 Comments

Image

Today I’ll be sharing two tincture recipes with you that have been brewing since 2011. As they sit, the properties of the herbs are extracted into the alcohol that they are submerged in and the tincture becomes stronger.

Brewing directions for both tinctures presented here:

Fill a glass jar at least 1/2 full with the herbs and cover with 40% alcohol (or higher) to an inch or so from the lip of the jar. Let stand for at least 3 weeks, preferably longer.

Remedy for Viruses (Colds, Flu, etc) + Immune booster!

  • 1 part rose hip
  • 1 part elderberry
  • 2 parts usnea lichen
  • 1 part mullein

The elderberry and rose hips have a lot of vitamin C and bio-flavonoids to help your body kill the virus. Usnea lichen is a super immune booster and has antibiotic properties that are specific to the respiratory and urinary systems. Mullein promotes lung health and restores our lungs.

Available in my etsy shop here.

Heart & Blood Tonic

  • 1 part hawthorn berry
  • 1 part ginseng
  • 2 parts olive leaf

This tincture is very powerful and can create a big energy boost. Hawthorn has long been known as a heart tonic. It will actually stimulate your heart to beat and can be used to treat people with arrhythmia. If you are on heart medications, consult a naturopath or holistic healer before using hawthorn.

See my DIY: How to Brew a Tincture for more information. Enjoy!

Interested in purchasing herbal remedies? See my shop @  Roots Apothecary
 
 

Shared at: Party Wave Wednesday, The HomeAcre Hop, Tasty Traditions, Thank Your Body Thursday, Fight Back Friday, Eat Make Grow, Old Fashioned Friday, Fresh Bites Friday, Small Footprint Friday

Author: regrowroots

I am abundant love, joy, and healer.

12 thoughts on “Herbal Tincture Recipes

  1. What sort of alcohol do we use? So, can I just use like store-bought scotch or whiskey? Or it has to be something special?

    • Hey K! You can use any type of alcohol from the store. Make sure it’s at least 40% alcohol by volume. Many people use vodka, but I have been using whiskey and brandy lately and I really like the sweetness of those. We actually have a local distillery, Copper Run, not far from where I live that makes whiskey. I plan on buying some of that good stuff next time I stock up!

  2. Ran on to your sight from another post. Love your sight and comments. We are also in Missouri, Real Farm Foods, and thought you might find our farm model interesting. We farm with several farm families on our 1000 acre farm in Southern Missouri raising organic beef, pork, lamb, chicken, eggs, raw milk-cow and goat and lots of vegetables, sold directly to the consumer. Check us out on FB.

    • Hi Cody! I’m so enthused to hear about your project!!! I have heard of Real Farm Foods before.. can’t remember where though. That sounds amazing and I will definitely check out your FB as soon as I get done commenting here. 🙂 Check out our local project – Home Grown Missouri. You can find us on facebook – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Home-Grown-Missouri/140174522812224?ref=ts&fref=ts . You can also find us on meetup.com and our work in progress website – http://www.homegrownmissouri.org. We have monthly meetings and workshops about growing food, eating healthy, and growing our community. We are always looking for guest speakers, so maybe we can set something up and collaberate! I’m also trying to popularize the barter movement and bring that back to life! 🙂 Have a wonderful day and I hope to talk to you soon!

  3. These recipes sound great! I’ve never tried making my own tinctures before, but I just might have to add it to my to-do list! 🙂 Thanks for sharing with Old-Fashioned Friday – I hope you’ll stop by again!

  4. May I just say what a relief to find somebody that really understands what
    they are talking about on the internet. You certainly know how to bring a problem to light and make it
    important. More people must read this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you aren’t more popular since you definitely possess the gift.

    • Thank you so much for you kind and thoughtful words!! This is such perfect timing because I was just thinking today about how much I truly care for herbs and natural healing. THere are many signs in my life that keep pointing me in the direction of sharing my healing gifts with the world. You have just showed me another sign. 🙂

  5. Tinctures are so much better to act quickly and directly. Glad to see someone who is interested in returning to our roots.

  6. What is also clear is that through crop rotation, planting cover crops,
    the use of compost-based fertilizers, and other biodynamic farming techniques,
    organically grown foods are generally more environmentally friendly than conventionally
    produced agricultural products. Modern day agricultural advancements are resorting to very
    primitive methods to bring the farming industry to an ecological 21st
    century turnabout. Organic has less pesticide residues.

    Organic gardeners are being challenged, and now they
    have a new opportunity to make an impact on our planet
    for the better. Here are seven reasons why we ought to eat organic:.

Leave a Reply

