Re-Grow Roots

Learning to live harmoniously in Missouri.

How to Say NO to GMO

5 Comments

I’m not into politics and voting in this country anymore because of how defiant our government is. The government disregards our own constitution frequently and all they care about is money. They are run by corporations. So I’ll admit that I didn’t vote yesterday. I did cast a mental vote for one thing – Prop 37. This proposition would have made it necessary for Genetically Modified foods to be labeled on all products in California. Sad to say, it failed. But all is not lost! We have the ability, as consumers, to understand what is in the products that we eat and feed to our families. We can learn which foods are GMO and what those foods are turned into. We can only buy foods from companies that we trust, buy more WHOLE and ORGANIC foods, and best off all – BUY LOCAL!!

Image

EIGHT GM FOOD CROPS TO AVOID :

  • corn
  • soybeans
  • canola
  • sugar beets
  • hawaiian papaya
  • small amount of zucchini and crookneck squash

If a food contains “sugar” and not “pure cane sugar”, it is most likely GM sugar beets.

Most dairy cows are injected with GM bovine growth hormone. Look for dairy labeled “No rBGH” or “No rBST”.

Nearly all livestock is fed GM grains – corn, soybeans, and alfalfa. Buy organic or local meat. Lately I have been volunteering at local farms where I can actually meet the animals, see what they eat, and process them myself. I realize many of you won’t be able to do that, but you can visit your local farmers market and speak to the farmers.

You are what you eat.

Here are a few sites that can help you learn more about GMO foods –

Author: regrowroots

I am abundant love, joy, and healer.

5 thoughts on “How to Say NO to GMO

  1. Hi! This is Tracy from swap-bot!

  2. Totally agree with you on labeling foods especially for the sake of learning about the presence of GMO’s. There are all too many substances that are added that I’d rather NOT have in my body.
    However, the right to vote is there for all US citizens to in some small way help guide our country. Don’t surrender your voice.

    • It’s so unfortunate the things that companies are allowed to put in FOOD. And it’s unfortunate that food is the only thing that requires labeling, while body care products and cleaning products (which also accumulate in our bodies) don’t even require any labeling. It’s sickening.

      I never surrender my voice. I am active in a local community organization and I spread the knowledge I have everywhere I go with anyone who is interested. I teach and share. I use my spending power by only buying local food, organic food, and handmade products. I am building community and building a new kind of economy. Voting is something I haven’t been interested in lately. Policies, politicians, laws… it’s so complex. I could read all day every day and still not understand who is pro or anti this or that and what the heck is going on. As far as I can tell, the government is run by corporations and no matter how I vote – republican or democratic – it’s the same… corporations still do the talking. But I don’t know anything.. it’s all just my opinion. I totally respect anyone who votes.

  3. Great post! Loving your blog!

Leave a Reply

