Re-Grow Roots

Learning to live harmoniously in Missouri.

Love what you do and NEVER GIVE UP!

5 Comments

I have a small business that I have been building up, perfecting, and loving for a few years now but I only recently began taking it seriously. For a while, it was more like a hobby because I truly do what I love to do, and I wasn’t making much money at it… so it was just for fun. I feel like I’m still building my foundation even now, but I have come a long way! I truly look at myself as a designer now and I view my “hobby” as a business… a SUPER FUN business!

Image

I used to get down because I would spend hours a day learning and changing my SEO (search engine optimization), retaking photos, always changing this and that… and it would lead to very few sales. I felt like I was wasting my time. But whenever those feelings happened, I knew it was time to take a break and go for a walk or have a cup of tea on the patio.. something calming to clear my mind. Then I would remind myself that I am doing what I love to do because I love to do it, and not just to make money.

Image

Money is a tool. It is just one possible way to attain what we need or want. The universe offers us ENDLESS possibilities so it usually does not help to sit and try to figure out HOW to make something happen. It’s best to just focus our energy on the result, and not how to attain. To me, a business plan is a waste of time. All the most amazing moments in my life have been totally unplanned. And today… I received a $500 wholesale order from my shop totally out of the blue!!

Image

Lately I have been creating gifts for friends and family, rejoicing in what I love doing. I haven’t been thinking much about selling, just adding to my etsy whenever I feel the mood come on. I have been working towards achieving my goals – a community garden, finding healthy local food, playing music, and most recently we have been looking for an RV. I haven’t been concerned with how to get any of these things, but just doing it, living… and they all work out! A $500 wholesale order! WHOA! This is awesome. The site is http://www.butterflymama.com – check it out, very cool stuff. The owner sells fair trade, eco-friendly apparel from around the world.

Image

I am so grateful! 🙂

Author: regrowroots

I am abundant love, joy, and healer.

5 thoughts on “Love what you do and NEVER GIVE UP!

  1. Congratulations on your order!! Your stuff is neat – hope the site expands your customer base! It’s great to have goals, which of course provide direction and accomplishment once you achieve. You are doing what I want to do in my future (creative creations, online sales), once we close our business here and move to New Mexico. : )

    • Thank you so much! I appreciate the kind words. I loooove New Mexico. It’s so beautiful and creative there, and surprisingly there are lots of gardeners there too! It has been really helpful for me in my life, no matter where I am or what I’m doing, to pursue my creative passions. Even when I worked 3 jobs a few years ago, I was still spending time painting. 🙂 We all need that creative outlet and I hope you find the time to express yours very soon! What is it that you create?

      • I love creating stuff… I grow herbs and use them in homemade salves, balms, tinctures, liniments, infused oils. I make beads, jewelry, bead swags. Hmmm, painting, handmade cards, sewing, crocheting, glass cutting, soy candles. One thing I’d like to learn is mosaic… I really wish there were more hours in the day! lol

  2. Congrat! This is so cool… You reminds me that I should do something I love and the money will flow in as long as we have passion in our works!

    — cfchai (Swap: Promoting your blog!)

    • It is so important for me to always do what I love and it makes me so happy!! If money is what you need in your life, it will flow in. Most of the time I don’t need money to get what I want and need in my life. The answers appear through some other means. It’s good to be open to any possibility and if that is money or something else, love and embrace it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

